Het Pomphuis

Before

Initiated in 1918, the construction works of Het Pomphuis were finalized in 1920. The 3 massive cast-iron installations of Het Pomphuis, in its time one of the largest establishments in Europe, drained the neighbouring dry dock nr 7 so a vessel could be maintained, embarked and disembarked. The shipping company “Red Star Line” made use of its services on a regular basis.

A loyal customer in those days was the vessel “Belgenland”, operating a shipping line between Antwerp and New York. The atmosphere of the vessel and the grandeur of the Art Nouveau movement are still apparent. The centrifugal pumps were able to drain the dry dock in merely 2 hours time. Since 1982, Het Pomphuis was put out of service. The dry dock nr 7 has disappeared meanwhile in order to facilitate the widening of the Albert canal. In 1996, it was even suggested to demolish this construction, however, the department of cultural conservation was able to prevent this and has classified the building as a monument.

The architectural style is eclectic and has acquired Art Nouveau characteristics. The inside of the building is divided into one vast space containing an impressive 7-meter-deep pit. The staircases along the inner walls of the entry hall lead up to metal galleries displaying graceful iron parapets and this on 2 levels. Striking are the tall round-arch windows with the original positioning of the metal rods.

To prevent that this monument would fall in the hands of time, there was given permission to find a new destination. After multiple propositions, there was chosen for an exciting restaurant & bar, the rebuilding was concluded on the 25 th of may 2002. After the spectacular opening, it became quite clear that Antwerp had gained a new pearl.

After

Het pomphuis - nu

Bar & Lounge

Throughout the day, you are welcome here to have a drink, as well as pre-dinner and after-dinner drinks.

Restaurant

The restaurant will receive you and your company in different zones and with diverse table sizes.

Mezzanine

On this in-between floor, the oval table offers space for a minimum of 12 people and a maximum of 22. Here you can experience the atmosphere of the restaurant while still enjoying some privacy. You must make reservations for the Mezzanine in advance.

Terrace

When the weather is nice, you can enjoy the beautiful sight of the Antwerp harbor and its passing ships. The terrace is also divided in a lounge- and restaurant zone.

Parking

Our own free parking is available to you on both sides of Het Pomphuis.

Book a table

You can immediately reserve up to 8 people via our online system. For more than 8 people you must send an email to info@hetpomphuis.be.

Reserve now

Email

info@hetpomphuis.be

Reservation

03 770 86 25

Location

Siberiastraat, 2030 Antwerp

Het Pomphuis

Avant

Entamés en 1918, les travaux de construction de Het Pomphuis ont été achevés en 1920. Les trois installations en fonte géantes de Het Pomphuis, à son époque un des plus grands établissements en Europe, aspiraient l’eau de la cale sèche avoisinante n° 7, de sorte qu’un navire pût être maintenu, embarqué et débarqué. L’armement “Red Star Line” en bénéficiait sur une base régulière.

Un habitué de cette période était le navire ”Belgenland”, qui opérait une ligne régulière entre Anvers et New York. L’ambiance de ce navire et le grand luxe provenant du mouvement Art Nouveau se ressentissent encore toujours. Les pompes centrifuges étaient à même d’aspirer l’eau de la cale sèche en un temps de 2 heures. Depuis 1982, l’établissement ”Het Pomphuis” a été mis hors service. La cale sèche n° 7 a disparu entre-temps permettant l’élargissement du canal Albert. En 1996, on voulait même démolir la construction, mais la division patrimoine culturel l’a pu empêcher et a classé le bâtiment en tant que monument.

Le style architectural est éclectique et fait témoin de caractéristiques Art Nouveau. A l’intérieur du bâtiment se trouve un seul grand espace présentant un puits impressionnant d’une profondeur de 7 mètres. Les escaliers au long des murs intérieurs de l’entrée mènent vers des galeries métalliques étalant des parapets en fer gracieux et ce sur 2 niveaux. Elles sont merveilleuses, ces hautes fenêtres en arc bombé avec la pose de tringles métalliques encore originelle.

Afin d’éviter que cet édifice ne tombe dans l’oubli, la permission a été accordée de lui trouver une nouvelle destinée. Après de nombreuses propositions, le choix s’est porté sur un restaurant & bar exhaltant. Ce projet s’est concrétisé le 25 mai 2002. Après une overture spectaculaire, il est apparût très clairement qu’Anvers avait gagné un nouveau joyau.

Maintenant

Het pomphuis - nu

BAR & LOUNGE

On vous acceuille avec plaisir toute la journée, pour prendre un verre, un apéritif ou pousse-café.

RESTAURANT

Les tables au restaurant peuvent adaptées à chaque groupe. 

MEZZANINE

La table dans la mezzanine est prévue pour un groupe de minimum 12 personnes à maximum 22 personnes. De cet endroit vous pouvez profiter de l'ambiance de restaurant tout en ayant de l'intimité. Il vous est conseillé de réserver cette table à temps.

TERRASSE

De notre terrasse, vous pouvez jouir d'une vue exceptionelle du port d'Anvers et du passages des bateaux. La terrasse dispose d'un côté lounge et d'un côte restaurant.

PARKING

De chaque côté du restaurant, vous trouverez un parking gratuit.

Réserver une table

Vous pouvez immédiatement réserver jusqu'à 8 personnes via notre système en ligne. Pour plus de 8 personnes, vous devez envoyer un email à info@hetpomphuis.be.

Réservez maintenant

Email

info@hetpomphuis.be

Réservation

03 770 86 25

Lieu

Siberiastraat, 2030 Anvers